Monday the 20th

Strange thoughts on this night in East Lansing. Wandering minds are a dangerously wonderful thing. How does one go about saying goodbye to so many people?

Knowing that I am soon leaving and realizing that there are many people who I will never see again has put me into a weird state of mind. I waffle between nostalgia, excitement and nervousness…mostly all at once. In reality, despite the fact that there are many people I want to see one last time, there are a few people I really truly need to see before I go. I believe this would be a similar feeling for anybody who was to go far, far away for a long, long time. In middle school I heard the saying that if you have 5 really good friends then you are lucky. I guess that makes me lucky.

I suppose my feelings can all be summed up by her. She needs no name. She is just her.

Her is the proverbial microcosm for pretty much everything I want to say

I want to see her one last time before I go and our paths possibly separate for the last time. This may not be possible. I maintain a sense of calm and peace though. Our last encounter put to rest a number of questions I had, and while some are left unanswered and a few new ones have been aroused I hardly believe that there will ever be a time when they will all be answered. That is simply not the way life goes. All I know is that I want to see her again, but if I can’t, I still walk away happy and contented. And isn’t that all that life is about anyway…being content with who you are?

Besides, there are adventures to be had and a life that, as far as I know, I have only one shot to enjoy.

I want to do it all.

So lets just keep our feet moving forward and our eyes focused on the road ahead…

I’ll keep you posted on how this goes

3 Comments

Filed under Narratives

3 responses to “Monday the 20th

  1. Pingback: Monday the 11th « Your Daily Shot of Soju

  2. When I initially commented I clicked the “Notify me when new comments are added” checkbox and now each time a comment is added I get several emails with
    the same comment. Is there any way you can remove me from that service?

    Thank you!

  3. I was suggested this web site by my cousin. I am not sure whether this
    post is written by him as nobody else know such detailed
    about my trouble. You’re wonderful! Thanks!

Leave a Reply

