5,7,5…because I knew you’d ask

In honor of its Buddhist heritage

Here are my observations of Seoul in Haiku

hopefully they can be as good as this

___________________

Soju one dollar

Jacket pocket carries ten

cigarettes cost two

___________________

feeling very tall

others around appear short

such big nose I have

__________________

Garbage litters street

trash circumvents street light post

the ol’ reach around

___________________

red lights and whistles

cars buses bikes for me don’t stop

move tall white man…move

__________________

motorcycles fast

on sidewalks safety not found

sidewalks are short cuts

___________________

apartment one room

bathroom faces television

C.S.I and dook

__________________

“hi, nice to meet you”

Students say everyday

met ten times before

__________________

please don’t speak so fast

sorry I don’t understand

I know like 5 words

___________________

Golden archways loom

hamburger none discover

bulgogi? the hell?

___________________

eat no chalupa

taco bell behind closed doors

only serves G.I’s

_________________

Pass out in subways

foreign initiation

awoke, people stare

_________________

take indirect path

I know you know what I say

cab drivers screw you

1 Comment

Filed under Culture, Links and Random Thoughts

One response to “5,7,5…because I knew you’d ask

  1. erin

    these are fantastic. please write a book.

Leave a Reply

