Things to entertain you…

ntroducing “Things to Entertain you.” This is going to be my daily format for sharing random cultural thoughts, pictures and basically anything I want to in an easy to digest and read format. Expect to be updated Monday-Thursday, and probably once on the weekend.

Something for you to read:

So yah, I’m drunk…I’ve been drinking on a school night

If in fact you were wondering…Yes…this makes me a bad teacher…just kidding…actually I’m an amazing teacher…keep reading

Last year, when I was teaching middle school in America I routinely woke up at 6 in the morning. This year, when I teach elementary school in South Korea, I wake up at 8 in the morning.

I told my Co-teacher that I used to wake up at 6 in the morning and she responded by asking me the obviously special question “then how do you see friends, and do adult things in the evening?”

Holy Crap Poop!!! A culture that values free time for it’s adults? You mean, I’m allowed to enjoy myself all week long? Not just on Fridays?

It got me thinking. Last year, when I woke up at 6 in the morning, I forced a bed time upon myself so I could be ready for the day. Before then I hadn’t had a bed time since I was 14 years old.

This year, the teachers all gathered for a special event/evening. On Wednesday we all went out and drank and sang songs until mid-night. Then we all went home. If this happened in America the PTA would have a special session and condemn the teachers for having fun.

So while I was teaching 6th graders, I was expected to go to bed at the same time as a 6th grader. If I didn’t, the parents would be mad at me. So if I thought about it, other then the fact that I stood in front of the class, instead of sitting in a chair, I really wasn’t that different than the children I was teaching.

I kind of like this system more…it lets me drink on a Tuesday.

Also Wednesday…

Visual Stimulation:

photo071202_011.jpg

The symbol of Buddhism looks strikingly like the symbol for Nazism. Probably because Hitler took the symbol from Buddhism (which is a symbol for eternity) and turned it around.

So the Nazi Symbol, if taken at face value, meant the opposite of eternity… which would mean you die now.

Piece of Pop Culture I Miss Today:

Being able to order alcohol at a bar without having to order side dishes as well. Yah, it was nice to have appetizers at first, but by the 3rd restaurant I really didn’t feel like eating shrimp flavored peanuts anymore.

Piece of Pop Culture that I’m diggin on:

The Norae Bong. It’s the Korean version of Karaoke club. Except, instead of sining in front of a packed bar you get your own private room to break it down in. I went for the first time tonight and I am now seriously addicted.

Fun with English:

The teachers get sticks. Recently my co-teacher had her “teacher stick” either stolen or lost. Yesterday though she got it back. She asked a student to write her name on the stick for her, in case it got stolen again. The English equivalent to what the student wrote:

Yang, Boram

Teacher, Fool

LOL

(The LOL is not from me)

Today’s Piece of Idiocy:

I promise, not all my stories will come from the front page of CNN.com but they’ve just been too good recently.

America will have to pay? What? Will we have to stop airing re-runs of “Laguna Beach?” Do you want President Bush to bend over to you can throw a kick ball at his ass?

I understand, yah, we’re assholes…but is Iran really making themselves look much better?

5 Comments

Filed under Links and Random Thoughts, Things to Entertain You

5 responses to “Things to entertain you…

  1. jeny b.

    pretty much am loving the new format. hey what does soju taste like? any flavor equivelent here? anyway you are ultimate boss. peace ho.

  2. marina

    I can’t believe tonight (last night) was your first Noraebong experience! You’ve been seriously missing out.

  3. thanks jen
    soju tastes like a weaker/sweeter version of vodka…it’s actually pretty tasty and inexpensive

    and marina, you’re right
    i have been missing out

    NO MORE MISSING OUT!

  4. Emily

    wait, is this the one where you ask if we can find the arrested development lyric in it?? Cuz I can’t find it YET. and YEAH, like that girl asked, can you describe what Soju tastes like? what are ur plans for christmas and NYE?? I’m sad that you won’t be here for that. Oh well.

  5. Emily

    oh wait, you already answered about soju. I’m on new anti-anxiety meds…its screwing with my head = )

Leave a Reply

