Half shot of soju

Winter English Camp is doing a number on my Circadian rhythms.

I just woke up from a 4 hour nap and it’s only midnight. Of course I did not intend to sleep that long. Then again, who does intend to start a 4 hour nap at 8 o’clock at night?

Twice a day, for 3 hours at a time, I am the primary entertainment for 13 to 15 Elementary students. I sing songs, I dance, I play games…I have fun. But saying I am tired when I get home isn’t so much an understatement as it is a grim fact of life…falling somewhere between taxes and the empty jar of peanut butter in my cub bard when I really felt like having a peanut butter and jelly sandwich tonight.

I’ve done full days of physical labor. I’ve had graduate level classes that stretch over similar lengths of time. I’ve taught 6 out of a possible 7 sixth grade class periods for an entire school year.

None of this has worn me out the way this winter camp has. And this is less than one week after returning form Thailand more rested than I’ve ever felt in my life.

In fact that may be my problem.

Anyways, I can wonder…how the hell did I come to be the type of person who would think back to my pre-school teachers, who played and sang songs everyday, and say something like “wow, they must have been really tough.”

Actually…F that…they got nap time.

2 Comments

Filed under Narratives

2 responses to “Half shot of soju

  1. Emily

    You are RIGHT, they DID get nap time….and you don’t nah na nah na boooo booooo = )

  2. Emily

    OH also, did you hear that China banned plastic bags…starting on June 1?? You probably knew that.

Leave a Reply

