Your Daily Shot of Soju: Required Reading

“Your Daily Shot of Soju” is my daily format for sharing random cultural thoughts, pictures and basically anything I want to in an easy to digest and read format. Expect to be updated Monday-Thursday, and probably once on the weekend.

What do I think my teaching role is in the Korean school system?:

Scroll to the very bottom of this post to see the answer to this question.

Making the reading list:

A few blogs and posts that I read on a regular basis regarding Korea. These are a must for any daily reading of South Korea.

The Marmot’s Hole – Seemingly the grand daddy of Korea blogs. It is written by Robert Koehler, an Ex-pat magazine editor who has been living in Seoul for a number of years. Usually a good source for news stories, especially those that affect westerners. Check the comments for the best in pretentious banter regarding politics and society. These are conversations that go absolutely nowhere. A place where I comment almost daily.

Zen Kimchi– A solid, daily round up of some of the bigger South Korean blogs (notably, not mine…yet). Check the bottom for his takes on food. This is important as he contributes food articles to the Ex-Pat living section of the Korean Herald.

Amanda Takes Off – A foreign teacher talks about her daily life. Uses anecdotal evidence in a creative format. Introduced the phrase ‘Klogic’ to me (Korean Logic).

PopSeoul – A guide to everything Pop Culture related in Seoul. I guess it’s like the Ex-pat version of Perezhilton…but you know, if PerezHilton didn’t have Jessica Simpson or Britney Spears to use as fodder.

EFL Geek – A good place for intelligent discussion regarding teaching in Seoul. Seems to be the only one doing his own statistical research instead of relying on outside news sources. This means I am a fan.

SeoulSteves – A guide to everything and everything in Seoul. Especially important for it’s events section.

There are a number of other blogs out there but these have been the most notable to me so far.

So where do I fit in to all of this? I guess I’m still finding that out. Does filling in the cracks count?

Visual Stimuli:

thumb463x_bradydownsad.jpg

Piece of Pop Culture I’m Diggin on Today:

The Lunar New Year.

You know how New Years is always a solid party and everybody gets really excited for it? You know how the one that happens on January 1st, no matter how cool it was kind of seems like a let down?

How bout a do over? Yah, I get one tomorrow night…not sure what I’m doing yet and I expect to not remember what I did the following night.

Piece of Pop Culture I’m Missing Today:

I missed the Super Bowl. Not just any super bowl mind you, but maybe the best one ever.

I hate Eli Manning. On the day he was drafted I secretly wished that he would trip over the last step, fall off the stage and land on an old woman eating peanuts (in my fantasy, Eli Manning is allergic to peanuts). That said, I hate Tom Brady and the Patriots more. I despise everything Boston sports related. The Patriots…Hate them. The Celtics…hate them (but KG is still cool). The red sox…would give my last testicle if it meant they never won another championship and I could see Bill Simmons weeping over a bowl of Special K (in my fantasy he’s allergic to Special K).

The Bruins…who?

Sadly, none of my kids knew what the Super Bowl was and I was forced to revel in the Patriots loss on my own, watching ESPN’s game cast online.

The answer to the question:

token.jpg

Token

3 Comments

Filed under Blogroll, Culture, Links and Random Thoughts, Things to Entertain You

3 responses to “Your Daily Shot of Soju: Required Reading

  1. Thanks for your kind words.

  2. Thanks for the “shout out.” I’m going to add you to my blog list.

    LOVE the token bit.

  3. no problem guys, I figure where all in something together…whatever that something is

Leave a Reply

