Monday the 11th

(Authors Note: This is my last post about Korea. I am moving to Mexico. I will probably start another blog, and when I do I will let you know. In the meantime I will continue to write for instablogs, if you want to read more of my work.)

Strange thoughts on this night in Seoul. It feels like just a year ago I was writing this exact same post. I like symmetry.

I’m not sure if I’m better or worse for this year in Seoul, but does it really matter? I’m different, maybe. I suppose that will have to be enough.

Last year my feelings could be summer up by her. That seems like an entire lifetime ago. Now my feelings can be summed up by a different her. Will this seem like a lifetime ago a year from now, or will it seem like a new beginning? I know what I plan, but plans never work out, which is why I don’t usually make them.

I’m not really sure what the point of this blog was, I know I started it simply because I like to write…but did it have a purpose beyond that? Was it to keep in touch with friends? Was it a way for me to meander and muddle through my own existence in a public forum? Was it simply a vehicle for my own subconscious desire to feel important? It’s probably a bit of each of those, but whatever reason there was behind the blog, I hope you enjoyed it.

For better or worse, it was what it was
and that’s not that bad

I leave you with this statement I wrote a few posts ago, at the end of the “Looking Past Korea” post because I think it applies here as well.

“Through this series, and this blog in general, I have tried to avoid telling people what to think with my writing. Instead of being a guide I have instead attempted to be a lamp. Hopefully I was able to shed enough light that you were able to find your own way.”

Maybe when I look back at this past year I’ll have shed enough light that I’ll remember where I was, how it felt, and subsequently figure out where I’m going next.

Stay tuned…it can only get better

2 Comments

Filed under Narratives

2 responses to “Monday the 11th

  1. K

    I have greatly enjoyed reading your blog– I have especially enjoyed the sections on Korean MTV. I’m glad you wrote it, for what it’s worth šŸ˜‰

  2. Kim Lee

    I really enjoy reading your blogs. Your sense of humor is different that I’ve ever read. I love foreigners insight of Korean culture. I’m sad that you are leaving Korea because I do not know much about Mexico. I hope you had good time there.

Leave a Reply

